Skip to content

Be kind to apple trees

May 26, 2011

5 Comments leave one →
  1. William permalink
    May 26, 2011 9:40 am

    Love an apple tree and it will always love you

  2. Trisha Paxton permalink
    May 26, 2011 7:56 pm

    I remember this story! I love your “cover version”, Sarah.

  3. May 26, 2011 8:54 pm

    It feels like a version of Baba Yaga? The witch whose house was on chicken feet… but there wasn’t an apple tree in that one: a hungry dog, a squeaky gate, a chicken perhaps? A favourite. Thanks for this!

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      May 26, 2011 11:02 pm

      There is a great Baba Yaga story in that collection – all about a girl who goes to collect a skull with burning eyes from Baba Yaga. I’ll have to read it again to see if it has an apple tree in it!

  4. May 27, 2011 8:08 am

    !!!
    I’ve been collecting Ruth Manning-Sanders books for years, I adored them as a kid and made the decision that when I was a grown up I’d have them ALL. I have quite a few, but she was one busy lady! I think she’s written around 50 books in all.

Leave a comment