Skip to content

Jeans

June 21, 2011

My daughter really loves her jeans. They came in a sack full of hand-me-downs, the wonderful karmic system that kicks in when you have kids. They were pre-thinned at the knees, and after a few falls, there was a hole. But Violet didn’t want to give them up – they were velvety and tough. ‘Jeans, jeans!’ she calls when it is time to get dressed.

So I made her a patch. I had lots of apples appliquéd onto bags and pinafores as a child – perhaps I was guided by nostalgia. But also by simplicity – the thought of having to sew six dots and legs onto a ladybug was too much for me. I don’t have an overlocker so I zig-zagged the apple on, and now we can hand the jeans down when she grows too big. Yesterday someone gave us a green sequined dancing dress. It’s too roomy for Violet, but she will grow. She will grow and she will roar through the garden, a green sequined dancing dragon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

