Skip to content

Tiny dolls and apple cosies

June 20, 2011

My friend Helen alerted me to this cute clip for the Mollie Makes magazine.

I love the stop-motion and the crocheted apple protectors. I also love the dolls who move and flip their skirts up. I have always been drawn to stories of toys coming alive when no-one is looking, starting with Hans Christian Anderson’s The Steadfast Tin Soldier, and moving to Edward Ardizzone’s The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll. I was entranced by the Tiny Doll’s world fashioned in the freezer – games of tennis played with peas and icecream spoons, a matchbox for a bed.

I too have tried to make stories about dolls. Here are a few characters I sketched:

And here are some tiny dolls I made in real life:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

