Skip to content

Art + craft fair

June 9, 2011
tags: ,

I love craft fairs. There’s something punk rock about them in this age of mass-production and data-obsession. You can’t knit on twitter. It takes a long time to sew twenty demented bunnies. You’ve got to lick the cotton, hold the needle up to the light and squint to thread it. You might prick yourself. You might bleed. How punk is that?

I was brought up with handy crafts. My mother sewed all my clothes, and my grandmother pieced together her scrap fabric to present me with misshapen teddy bears and pajamas. My step-grandmother had a darning mushroom, and she’d patch the holes my farming grandfather’s toenails had made in his woolen socks. My mother still sews clothes for my children, even though I tell her it’s cheaper to buy them. She knits them jerseys and socks, and she smocks dresses for my daughter.

This weekend there is a craft fair in Auckland. A few people I know are coming to sell their beautiful things, and I am looking forward to joining the frenzy. Because it is – all these hipsters, hair in their eyes, squabbling over a shirtless collar or an owl-printed tea towel. I can recommend Melissa from Tiny Happy, who has the most lovely aesthetic. And Emma from Emma Makes, who has a cool range of apple wash bags and notebooks, amongst other things. She made the stamp on the notebook herself, and I particularly like how she’s got the leaf coming out of the top of the stalk, because that seems correct to me, and as the daughter of a botanist, I’m a stickler about these things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 2:07 am

    thanks for the mention, sarah! it will be lovely to see you there.
    p.s. are you going to be having a stall yourself?

  2. Sarah Laing permalink
    June 10, 2011 9:01 pm

    No stalls for me! Too busy drawing comics 🙂

Leave a Reply

