Skip to content

Diana and the golden apples

June 1, 2011

The one thing that I couldn’t draw was the narrator’s wonderful voice. It was the very definition of resonant and heroic, and it had that particular anglo-American accent of the 1950s. I invariably imagine a florid man in a pin-striped suit in a studio in Chicago, stopping off to say high to the chorus girls, listening the audio engineer’s latest silly sound, then putting his big headphones on and speaking into the stocking-covered microphone. Mell-an-ion! Mell-an-ion! Oh, and I probably have the story wrong (did Aphrodite give him the apples, or did Diana’s father give him the apples?) so feel free to correct me in the comments.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Pauline permalink
    June 2, 2011 1:09 am

    I used to listen to that story too. I loved it. You can get them all on CD now (and probably iTunes) http://www.donlinden.com/cds.htm#child_fav (See Vol 1 for Diana story)

  2. William permalink
    June 2, 2011 9:01 am

    Were the apples golden delicious, a parent of gala who mutated to form royal gala?

  3. June 6, 2011 3:25 am

    I loved this story so much in NZ when I was a kid I retold it in my recent novel Zakynthos Blue! Diana’s father gave Milanion the golden apples.

    • June 6, 2011 8:30 am

      We must be around the same age, I LOVED listening to the stories on Sundays…it was an institution in our house growing up. I adored The Snow goose story and Diana

  4. Sarah permalink
    June 6, 2011 10:04 pm

    I loved that story too. So much that we have it on vinyl and torture our children with it. The background music was so dramatic and stirring.

    • June 7, 2011 1:12 am

      Yes, the music was Troika. I had a tape by Skye and played their version while telling the story to my two kids. Almost got a sob out of my tough little daughter!

  5. December 25, 2011 1:34 pm

    The Children’s Request on 1ZB was my favourite way of spending Sunday mornings in the 50s.
    There’s a recording of Diana and the Golden Apples on YouTube here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPJoDewTd1c

    I came your blog when I was looking for info about this story – my name is Diana and my partner often calls me Diana and the golden apples. We were having a discussion about the story and neither of us could remember Melanion’s name.

  6. Titus permalink
    February 21, 2012 12:48 am

    Her real name was Atalanta, and she was staunch: http://www.theoi.com/Heroine/Atalanta.html

  7. Steven permalink
    June 14, 2012 1:21 pm

    The narrator was Art Gilmore. There is a fantastic cartoon to this recording on youtube. My first born will be named Milanion.

  8. Marjorie Wiles permalink
    July 25, 2012 10:39 pm

    I too absolutely adored these stories that my brothers and I listened to on the Junior Request Session, Station 2ZB Wellington (as it was then called), on Sunday mornings. Diana and the Golden Apples was one of my favourites, not least because of the brilliantly imaginative use of Prokoviev’s Lieutenant Kije Suite.It took me years to find out what the music was.

  9. diana permalink
    May 30, 2013 7:45 am

    I loved this story as well especially as my name is Diana as well.

Leave a Reply

