Skip to content

Stories told to me

May 29, 2011

No really, do you have an apple story? Leave a comment and maybe I can make it into a comic!

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Therese permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:27 pm

    When I was young I remember that there were posters adverstising apples that used “Mr Apple”. He had a human body and an apple head. I was terrified by the image. My big sister told me that’s what would happen if you ate too many apples. I loved eating apples, but didn’t want to take the risk of turning into a little girl with an apple head!

  2. May 30, 2011 4:53 am

    I don’t really have an apple story, but I was utterly captivated by that story of the star when I was a child. My eldest child eats apples all the time. Two or three each day, and every time I see him chewing on one, I remember that story and how it felt to hear it.

  3. May 31, 2011 8:14 am

    When I was at kindy, for morning tea we’d always be given a 1/4 piece of apple off a plate. The teacher would hand the plate around and we’d search for the biggest, reddest piece, then promptly rub the skin side on our jerseys to make them shiny. This is my main memory of kindy in the late 70’s. Everyone I’ve spoken to about remembers doing this too. Did you??

  4. May 31, 2011 8:20 am

    Another apple memory (I’m now a Janine and don’t eat raw apples because they make my throat itchy and my eyes puffy), is when Mum used to peel apples to make apple crumble. She’d carefully start at the top of the apple with a peeler and peel around and around until she got to the end. I thought it was the best thing ever if she could peel the whole apple in one long, springy strip, then I’d sit down to watch RTR Countdown nibbling from one end to the other – taking as much care to keep it in one piece as my mother had.

  5. June 1, 2011 7:17 am

    Dad or Mum, can’t remember or it may have been one of my cousins told me (because I would eat the whole apple, pips and all) that the seeds of the apple (that I had eaten) would take hold and grow inside me. I used to think of that everytime I ate an apple (seeds and all after being told that) and used to chuckle about carrying my own supply of apples around inside me, like a portable orchard.

    Great blog btw and I enjoyed Dead mans music, the way you described school-girl Wellington, perfect.

  6. Sarah Laing permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:24 am

    Thanks so much for your great stories! I shall see what I can do with them. And I’m glad you liked ‘Dead People’s Music’, Brian.

  7. June 7, 2011 10:06 am

    My fav apple memory is my first cooking lesson from my Dad. He taught me how to fry up apples with a ton of butter for our Sunday pancake brunch. It’s still my fav breakfast of all time, although I got a little carried away with it a couple years ago when foodtown carried their ‘maple walnut’ brie and I started adding that to the recipe. My jeans grew signifigantly tighter over the span of a couple days.

  8. Titus permalink
    February 21, 2012 1:07 am

    In the South Island, lonely roadside apple trees are sometimes the only sign that a farmhouse once stood nearby.

    I’ve daydreamed about investigating some isolated tree, and like the discoverer of “Monty’s Surprise”, reintroducing to a world jaded by Galas and Pacific Roses some forgotten variety, crisp and fragrant. “Titus’ Wonder” perhaps?

Leave a Reply

