Skip to content

The Apple Girl

June 22, 2011

 

I found this poem on the New Zealand Electronic Poetry Centre website. It’s by Robin Hyde, who died in 1939. I have only illustrated the first two stanzas – you’ll have to read the rest of the poem to find out what happens. It expects you to have a good knowledge of Elizabethan history, which I learnt in school and promptly forgot. But the themes are the same as now – political intrigue and corruption versus youth and idealism. I love the Elizabethan fashion! If only modern men would wear puff-ball shorts, tights and big lace ruffs. I wonder whether, centuries from now, our descendants will look upon us with the same incredulity.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 12:11 am

    love the poem and love the illustrations. Well done. I wonder if I can pass as the apple cheek maiden though. I am doing the embroidery like her at the moment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

